[Currently listening to: TV On The Radio]
I love Netflix. If you are thinking about getting Netflix, do it! It's 100% worth the $10 a month. There is so much available to watch instantly now, including the documentary Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead. Sarah from work mentioned watching it and I had to check it out. It is about Joe Cross' journey across the US while doing a sixty day juice fast. He interviews people across the country about what they eat and how healthy they are, etc. I really was shocked at how many people know they are eating food that is bad for their body and may be shortening their lives, and they don't care! It is so sad that so many people in this country are making these horrible decisions for their life on a daily basis, and they know exactly what they are doing. The really heartbreaking part is the children. They eat what their parents give them, and once they are old enough to make their own decisions they already have the bad eating habits.
Sorry, I could rant about this forever. Thankfully documentaries like this are becoming increasingly popular, and eating healthy and "green" is starting to become the trend. The country is waking up and realizing that along the way something has changed, we have gotten fatter, there are more diseases, more early deaths, and we need to do something about it. Thankfully I grew up in a home where my mother cooked dinner for us at home almost every single night. But one thing the nutritionists in this documentary talk about is how our meals have changed. The average American gets roughly 60% of their calories from processed foods, 30% from animal products, 5% from grains, and 5% from fruits and veggies. So backwards. I've already been making the change to fresh, minimally processed, local foods, but after watching this I really understand the importance of fruits and veggies being the main part of my diet. How else will my body get the nutrients it needs to keep me healthy? I don't plan on doing a 60 day juice fast any time soon, but I would like to start juicing as part of my every day diet.
Okay, I've talked about this enough. This is what I took away from the documentary, I'll let you watch it and decide what to do with the information yourself :)
Oh, and I should also mention my eating habits are nowhere near perfect. But it is something I have been working on and I've become passionate about, so I hope you enjoy reading about what motivates me and what I've been learning!
Speaking of food, I went to the Grant Park Farmers Market before work yesterday! I went right before they open so I would make it to work on time, but all the vendors were happy to sell to me! I got about six different kinds of tomatoes, some blueberries, a small loaf of ciabatta, a little quiche for breakfast, AtlantaFresh yogurt and smoked mozzarella cheese, and some granola. I love it all! The booths at this market were a little different than the Riverside Farmers Market. There were several stands with all produce, but there were also a lot of specialty stands. A stand with different boiled peanut flavors, a "tart" stand, the H&F bread stand, a coffee stand, a couple cheese stands, it was great! I can't wait to go back. Hopefully one of these days I will have a brunch shift off so I can be there when the market is actually up and running. They start at 9 30 and that is when I had to leave to make it to work on time. I will still go to the Riverside market for produce, it is so cheap there, but I'm excited about all the other great things I will be getting at Grant Park. Check it out!
Beauty product update. I've been washing my hair with the baking soda still, but for the past two weeks I haven't used the apple cider vinegar as conditioner. For now, my hair doesn't need it. The product I use to curl it helps with frizzies, and my hair isn't dry at all so to keep it from looking greasy I stopped using conditioner. I never thought I would be able to say that! I've always been so dependent on moisturizers for my hair, it's so nice to finally realize my natural hair never needed them. It was all shampoo's fault.
I hate fleas. I'm trying not to scratch a flea bite I have on my leg right now. I know, yuck. I feel so bad for Roxy. She is itching like crazy, and she doesn't understand that scratching them makes it worse :( I gave her one of the flea pills and I'm going to give her a bath today and then put some Frontline on her. Hopefully that will do the job.
I'm off today and tomorrow, and I don't have any idea what I'm going to do. I need to run to Sevananda to get some groceries today, take Roxy to the dog park and give her a bath, maybe do some cleaning, and Casey and I are grabbing dinner later. That's not a lot to fill up two days. I'm up for suggestions. I would also love if someone with a pool wants to hang out so I can get some sun :)
I think that's it for today. Longest post ever.
Oh, and now that most of the important people in my life know that I'm moving to Portland in October, I'll start writing about that soon :)