Friday, May 14, 2010

Pure, Steak, and Home Alone

I had a GREAT time with my parents and my brother David on Wednesday. We went to Pure in Woodstock, had a couple pitchers of margs and ate good food. My dad and I split the pork gorditas(?), these friend corn things stuffed with pork and topped with guacamole, salsa, and sour cream. Probably not the healthiest thing on the menu, but so yummy. My mom starting acting silly after her two margaritas, but she acts silly anyways, that's why I love her :) It was her 50th birthday yesterday! We were talking about how fun her 40th birthday party was, it would be cool if we could have another party like that. After dinner Roxy and I headed home. I always bring her when I go up to see my family, their dog Harley is Roxy's best friend. They run around in the backyard for hours, they are so fun to watch. Harley does this hilarious snapping thing with his mouth that reminds me of an alligator, I've never seen a dog act like that before. He just snaps at the air when he gets excited instead of actually biting anything. So on the way home Tatyana called me and said she was still in Atlanta! Her flights kept getting delayed so she stayed home that night and left yesterday instead. So she came home and we got to drink some wine and talk for a while which was such a great surprise since I thought the next time I was going to see her would be in august. I just talked to her on facebook, she made it to Dubai safe and sound and she is excited to spend a couple days hanging out before she has to start work. I'm so happy for her :)

Yesterday I started off my morning with eggs, onions, turkey, and goat cheese again. I didn't work out, I'm not sure what I did actually, ha. I'm still enjoying my first week out of school and being able to sleep in and lay around if I want to. Before work I took some frozen chicken I had left from a whole chicken and heated it up with some taco seasoning and put that, onions, and tomatoes on top of lettuce for a little taco salad. The chicken tasted funny though, like it was old or something, so I really just ate the veggies. I got to work and my manager told me that I had a reservation for 40 people in the lounge at 6:30. I was really excited about making some money, so Stephani and I set up for the party and waited for them to arrive. 6:45 rolled around and no one had checked in, so my manager called them to see what was going on. They told him they changed the reservation to Sunday at another restaurant. REALLY? I don't understand how someone thinks it's okay to make a reservation for 40 PEOPLE and not call when they cancel. So David cut me and I went home without making a dime. I could have gotten cut a lot earlier if they had the decency to call. Ugh. So I went home and changed and Roxy and I went to my parents' house again for dinner. My dad cooked steak for my mom's birthday, with sweet corn and this really good whole grain bread. Then we had cheesecake with strawberries for desert while watching (500) Days of Summer. It was so good! I love both of the actors, and it was nice that it didn't end happily ever after like every other chick flick. It had a great soundtrack too. I need to buy an external hard drive so I can download some more music. It was late when the movie ended so I came home and went to bed (after falling asleep on the couch in front of the tv- so predictable).

Today I went to lunch with Kalen at Vatica, this awesome vegetarian Indian restaurant right down the street. They serve a couple different dishes in little tins on a big plate (Thali) and its all you can eat so when you finish something they push a little cart out and refill it for you! I love this place, it was great to go back. But I'm still full from eating at 12! Now it's off to work again! I hope I get out at a decent time, I'm going to go out with Tom downtown when I get off :)

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

A Rocky Start... Carbs and Cheese

Well, beer pong didn't happen. Instead I drank a couple glasses of wine and fell asleep. Oh well :( . So to finish talking about Monday... I started off the morning in Decatur, drove through looking for a quick breakfast, didn't find anything so just went straight to the Dekalb Farmers Market for some fresh produce and protein. I got some beautiful strawberries, apples, oranges, a cucumber, a couple tomatoes, vidalia onions (yay summer!), eggs, goat cheese, honey, chicken breasts, and ground beef. All organic, and only around $50. Not bad. I sauteed an onion, cooked an egg over easy, and toasted a piece of ciabatta bread with some goat cheese and honey. Yummy breakfast. Before work I made a turkey sandwich with the ciabatta bread, goat cheese, lettuce, and tomato. I had a few slices of cucumber on the side with some olive oil, salt and pepper. Both meals were great, where I messed up was snacking on leftover party chex mix while watching Weeds, and having a piece of leftover cookie cake :( Eating smaller portions and not constantly snacking are two things I need to work on. I brought a couple oranges to work so I wouldn't snack, and of course I ignored those and snacked on the food for the cocktail party at work. When I got home from work around 11:30 I made another turkey sandwich and had a glass of wine (instead of beer pong).

Yesterday I started my new workout routine. I woke up and immediately got dressed to go running with Roxy. She was a nightmare, and I'm in awful shape, so needless to say it was not fun. She kept pulling me everywhere and freaked out wanting to play with every dog. We'll get better. Then I got ready to grab lunch with Leigha, but unfortunately we weren't able to meet because she had so much to do and I had to go to work. So I sauteed an onion and cooked a chicken breast for lunch. Also had a few slices of tomato and a piece of bread. I didn't snack at work! But I didn't really have an opportunity. And I made up for it by eating a piece a ciabatta bread and pita chips with goat cheese at 1 am before bed. Oops. I got to see Tatyana for a few minutes before bed, I wish I had gotten off work earlier so I could have spent more time with her before she left today for Dubai :( .

This morning I spent a little time with Tatyana before she left to finish packing. I can't believe I won't see her for three months. I don't know what I'll do all summer without her. Sit at home alone with Roxy. Ha. I won't get bored, but I'll definitely miss her being around. For breakfast I sauteed an onion (yes, they are that good) and threw in a couple scrambled eggs with some shredded turkey, goat cheese, and avacado. So good! I love messing with eggs. I also cut up an apple and ate that with some peanut butter. It was a big breakfast so I watched tv and took a nap before running. Roxy was so much better today! I think she is already starting to understand what I want from her with my little yanks on her leash! The run was more relaxing, but still just as hard to finish. But it feels so good to finish, I think I can keep this up. Now I'm getting ready to go hang out with my family for my mom's birthday. And instead of eating a little fruit before dinner I ate Tatyana's leftover Mellow Mushroom. Which included too much cheese and bread, and too little nutrition :( . This is a work in progress, I can't just quit these eating habits cold turkey! I'm already doing better just because of what I have in the house to eat. If I only buy things that will contribute to me loosing weight, the only way I can eat the bad things is eating out. Which I'm trying not to do to save money.

I don't have a nice camera but I would like to start putting up some pictures, even if it's just from my iPhone. I'll tackle that later :)

Monday, May 10, 2010

The First Monday

Today is the first Monday of my summer break, so I'm trying to start it off right. Meghann, discovered by my mother, inspired me to start blogging months ago. I decided for a couple reasons to start today. First, I love writing. And as Kendra would say, "memories!" Second, I love eating. Lately that really hasn't been a good thing. I eat when I want to eat, whatever I want to eat, without considering the consequences. Well the consequences have caught up to me and I realize I'm in the worst shape of my life. Only 21 years of life, but I'm unhappy with the way I look, and I need to change that. I know that writing about the process of changing my eating and health habits for others to read will help keep me motivated. This blog won't only be about food and working out, as you can already see I like to ramble, but I will focus on it while I'm trying to form these better habits.

Speaking of better habits, I will have to finish this later because I need to go play my first beer pong game of the summer :)