Friday, May 14, 2010

Pure, Steak, and Home Alone

I had a GREAT time with my parents and my brother David on Wednesday. We went to Pure in Woodstock, had a couple pitchers of margs and ate good food. My dad and I split the pork gorditas(?), these friend corn things stuffed with pork and topped with guacamole, salsa, and sour cream. Probably not the healthiest thing on the menu, but so yummy. My mom starting acting silly after her two margaritas, but she acts silly anyways, that's why I love her :) It was her 50th birthday yesterday! We were talking about how fun her 40th birthday party was, it would be cool if we could have another party like that. After dinner Roxy and I headed home. I always bring her when I go up to see my family, their dog Harley is Roxy's best friend. They run around in the backyard for hours, they are so fun to watch. Harley does this hilarious snapping thing with his mouth that reminds me of an alligator, I've never seen a dog act like that before. He just snaps at the air when he gets excited instead of actually biting anything. So on the way home Tatyana called me and said she was still in Atlanta! Her flights kept getting delayed so she stayed home that night and left yesterday instead. So she came home and we got to drink some wine and talk for a while which was such a great surprise since I thought the next time I was going to see her would be in august. I just talked to her on facebook, she made it to Dubai safe and sound and she is excited to spend a couple days hanging out before she has to start work. I'm so happy for her :)

Yesterday I started off my morning with eggs, onions, turkey, and goat cheese again. I didn't work out, I'm not sure what I did actually, ha. I'm still enjoying my first week out of school and being able to sleep in and lay around if I want to. Before work I took some frozen chicken I had left from a whole chicken and heated it up with some taco seasoning and put that, onions, and tomatoes on top of lettuce for a little taco salad. The chicken tasted funny though, like it was old or something, so I really just ate the veggies. I got to work and my manager told me that I had a reservation for 40 people in the lounge at 6:30. I was really excited about making some money, so Stephani and I set up for the party and waited for them to arrive. 6:45 rolled around and no one had checked in, so my manager called them to see what was going on. They told him they changed the reservation to Sunday at another restaurant. REALLY? I don't understand how someone thinks it's okay to make a reservation for 40 PEOPLE and not call when they cancel. So David cut me and I went home without making a dime. I could have gotten cut a lot earlier if they had the decency to call. Ugh. So I went home and changed and Roxy and I went to my parents' house again for dinner. My dad cooked steak for my mom's birthday, with sweet corn and this really good whole grain bread. Then we had cheesecake with strawberries for desert while watching (500) Days of Summer. It was so good! I love both of the actors, and it was nice that it didn't end happily ever after like every other chick flick. It had a great soundtrack too. I need to buy an external hard drive so I can download some more music. It was late when the movie ended so I came home and went to bed (after falling asleep on the couch in front of the tv- so predictable).

Today I went to lunch with Kalen at Vatica, this awesome vegetarian Indian restaurant right down the street. They serve a couple different dishes in little tins on a big plate (Thali) and its all you can eat so when you finish something they push a little cart out and refill it for you! I love this place, it was great to go back. But I'm still full from eating at 12! Now it's off to work again! I hope I get out at a decent time, I'm going to go out with Tom downtown when I get off :)

No comments:

Post a Comment