Monday, August 30, 2010

Spaghetti

One of the meals I make for myself is spaghetti with ground beef. Very simple, I don't make my own sauce, I use Newman's Own Sockarooni, it already has peppers and mushrooms and stuff in it, and I just add more spices and a little butter. I use lean ground beef (add a lot of spices to that too) and just stir them together. I freeze it in a few containers so I don't have to try and eat it all in a couple days, and I cook pasta when I thaw the sauce. Anyways. I was cooking that today and I remembered something. My mom had me helping her cook when I was probably around 11 or 12. Maybe earlier. Spaghetti is definitely one of the earliest memories I have of cooking (it's pretty simple), and I remembered one detail tonight when I tried a bite of the meat. I used to have to take some of the cooked meat and put it on a plate for my little sister. Add salt, and that's it. That was her dinner. She was incredibly picky, and hated marinara. I remember being jealous of her plate of meat and wishing I could eat that too. Why? Clearly I was jealous of her "special treatment." She got to eat something different then all of us. Now that I think about it, she was obviously the one missing out. Lean ground beef with salt is pretty damn bland. Hard to eat, even. She didn't even add ketchup or anything. I enjoyed that memory. I'm really grateful that my mom had me cooking so early. I never thought it was anything special before, but now that I'm older I've realized how much of a blessing that is. She made sure that we had a home cooked meal almost every night of my childhood, and has made sure that my siblings and I all learned enough to be able to cook on our own. I don't think my siblings ever spent as much time in the kitchen as I did, maybe because I was the oldest and learned how to first, or maybe it is because I enjoyed being in the kitchen. I would have never admitted that to my mom then, but I definitely enjoy cooking now, so I had to have enjoyed it a little. To end this rant, thank you Mom. I now realize how much time and energy you put into something I used to consider so simple. A home cooked meal every night is not something every child is blessed with, and I do realize how blessed I was with an amazing Mother growing up. (You still are amazing, of course.)

I did a little yoga tonight. I'm really excited to work on my flexibility. When I did TaeKwondo I got an inch away from being able to do a split, and now I can't even touch my toes without bending my knees. That used to be the easiest thing. So I'm excited to stretch my body out again. I felt great during and after I did the exercises, so I won't need much motivation to keep this up. Youtube is an amazing thing. I used this video today, and part 2. I like her, but I'll definitely try some other ones so I can compare them. I want to get a routine down so I can listen to music while I do it instead of watching a video.

I'm using blogging as an excuse not to study history, I really need to get back to it. I have to get that B average! My goal is an A average, but I HAVE to get a B. I'm not a C student, I'm not a C student, I'm not a C student. I need to keep telling myself that before I try to get prescribed to adderal. I CAN focus on these notes, I DON'T have a problem. Ugh.

No comments:

Post a Comment