Sunday, August 29, 2010

Sunday Funday

I don't know who coined the term "Sunday Funday", but they couldn't be more right. What is better than a Sunday off after a long week of work and school? This might be my last Sunday off for a while since I'm new on the Nava schedule, so I'm really going to enjoy this one. I wish I could give them a good reason to permanently have Sundays off. Rathbun's is closed on Sunday (where Tom works) so he always has Sunday off unless there is a special event. That's really been our day together for the past few months, I'm going to miss that. It's hard to get a full day with him. I'm not sure yet what we are doing today. Hopefully something outside, I need to get some sun, it looks like I've been in a cave all summer.

Money. I've only made minimum wage this week, so I'm a little worried about what I'll be left with after I pay rent. Speaking of minimum wage, I did learn something interesting in in Econ this week. Minimum wage in December 1964 was $1.15. In December 2007 it was $5.85. But once you factor in inflation the purchasing power of $1.90 in 2007 would be $7.78. I never really understood the power of inflation, it's pretty amazing. Anyways, just wanted to share that, ha. Econ really is teaching me some valuable information, but it is definitely the class I'm having the hardest time understanding. Formulas always get me. Math isn't my strong point. Back to money. My parents offered to pay for my books for school. I hate accepting money from them, I want to know that I can do it myself. I'm out of the house and they shouldn't have to be burdened with things like that. But they have made it clear they want to, so we'll see if I can swallow my pride and let them. Depends on a few things. I definitely need to get my History book tomorrow, I already have a test on Tuesday and he made it clear that there are some maps and stuff in the book that we need to know. Great. $120 for a history book. Ridiculous.

If anyone is actually reading this they might be wondering about my goals I talked about in the beginning of this blog. This was supposed to be about me getting in shape and improving health and overall well-being. I have DEFINITELY been eating better. I buy chicken, lunch meat, tuna, eggs, and fruits and vegies. I have some carbs like toast and pasta here and there. The only time I don't eat well is when I go out. I have no desire to go out to a restaurant and order plain fish with steamed vegies. No thank you. But if I'm just getting lunch or something I try to make the healthier choice. BUT, the exercising part has not happened. Besides the normal running around at work all week. I was supposed to be running with Roxy all summer. It's just a really hard habit to get into. Now that the weather is nicer I know I will be more motivated. We had a hot summer, the only time to run without worrying about passing out is early morning and after the sun sets. When I'm at work. Still, no excuses. I'm definitely not happy with myself. So, that's my health update. The new thing I would like to try to include as well as running is yoga. I always loved the stretching part of TaeKwonDo, and working in a restaurant can be pretty strenuous, I know my body would really benefit from it. Youtube has a lot of videos, so I wouldn't need to pay for a class or anything.

Enough rambling for today. Ready, set, Sunday Funday! :)

No comments:

Post a Comment